plate with kitfo, salad, and ayib

San Francisco: Moya

Moya
121 Ninth Street
San Francisco, California 94103
(415) 431-5544
http://www.eatmoya.com/

Monday – Friday: 11:00 A.M. – 3:00 P.M., 6:00 P.M. – 9:00 P.M.
Saturday: 12:00 P.M. – 9:00 P.M.
Sunday: Closed

This is a small, casual lunch place (mostly) that serves up a small menu of Ethiopian/Eritrean dishes and some sandwich versions of tibs and kitfo. It’s located down Mission Street a little ways from Civic Center BART, and not too far from KiTea Cat Cafe.

I first visited this place in September 2013, when I popped in to ask for some injera to snack on. (They sold it to me in nicely wrapped tin foil and I ate it while walking to Pier 39.) Then I returned in December 2013, where I ordered a veggie combo (tsom beyanetu) and Shain ordered a plate of injera. That was at dinner.

plate piled with injera next to plate with veggie combo on it

Then I returned in July 2017, and met the owner-operator, Mellay Menelik, who is an amazing and accomplished entrepreneur. This time, I had kitfo with ayib (comes with a salad), and Mellay brought out a little plate with some yemesir wot, kik alicha, and gomen on it. I had piles of nommy injera, and a nice plate of mitmita for the dipping of the kitfo (which I almost always ask for lebleb, or very lightly cooked.)

basket with injera plate with kitfo, salad, and ayib plate with pile of mitmita  yemesir wot, gomen, kik alicha

Am definitely planning to return!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

